Cart 0

K. Aten

Born and raised in Michigan, Kelly is a latecomer to the writing scene. As an introvert with self-taught extroversion, she has traveled to nearly every state in the US and draws from her experience with everything she writes. Over the years she has loved playing a variety of sports including volleyball, bowling, softball, and most recently, roller derby. But then bad knees became worse and Kelly returned to the comfort of fan fiction to fill the void. Reading the amazing tales she found prompted her to try her hand at writing again. The ability to turn out an engaging tale was discovered and a bittersweet new love affair began.

Kelly works automotive industry coding in Visual basic, and her avid reading and writing provide a nice balance to the daily order of data, allowing her to juggle passion and responsibility. Her writing style is as varied as her reading taste and it shows as she tackles each new genre with glee. But beneath it all, no matter the subject or setting, Kelly carries a core belief that good should triumph. She’s not afraid of pain or adversity, but loves a happy ending. She’s been pouring words into novels since 2015 and probably won’t run out of things to say any time soon.

Web site:

Books by K. Aten

Upcoming Releases

The Sagittarius – Book Three in The Arrow of Artemis series

What is life if not the sum of all things that occur before we die? Kyri has known her share of loss in the two decades that she has been alive. She never expected to find herself a slave in roman lands, nor did she think she had the heart to become a gladiatrix. Soul shattered, she must fight to see her way back home again. Will she win her freedom and return to all that she has known, or will she become another kind of slave to the killer that has taken over her mind? The only thing that is certain through it all is her love and devotion to Queen Orianna. Then again, certainty can only be found in those that control their own destiny.

Waking the Dreamer


By the end of the 21st century, the world was a harsh place. After decades of natural and man-made catastrophes, nations fell, populations shifted, and seventy percent of the continents became uninhabitable without protective suits. Technological advancement strode forward faster than ever and it was the only thing that kept human society steady through it all.

No one could have predicted the discovery of Dream Walkers. They were people born with the ability to leave their bodies at will, unseen by the waking world. The potential to become ultimate spies meant the remaining government regimes wanted to study the Dream Walkers and control them. For all those Walkers that refused to register and comply, the North American government hunted them down, killing any who stood in the way. The very first Dream Walker discovered was a five year old girl named Julia. And when the soldiers came for her at the age of twenty, she was already on the run.

A decade later Julia is living a new life under the government’s radar. As a secure tech courier in the capital city of Chicago, she does her job and the rest of her time avoids other people as much as she is able. The moment she agrees to help another fugitive Walker is when everything changes. Now the government wants them both and they’ll stop at nothing to get what they want.

Tentative Publication Date: September 2018

Running From Forever

Sarah Colby has always run from commitment. But after more than a year on the road following her musical dreams, even she yearns for a little stability. Her sister Annie is only too happy to welcome her back home. When she meets her Annie’s boss, Nobel Keller, she’s immediately drawn to the woman’s youthful good looks and dangerous charisma. The first night together leaves Sarah aching for more, but the second shows her the true price of passion. It’s a dark secret that will either keep them apart forever, or cost her everything she’s ever known.

Tentative Publication Date: March 2019

Embracing Forever

Sarah Colby is a musician, teacher, lover, sister, and… so much more. In the past year, she learned that sometimes life takes you places you never even knew existed. For Sarah and her sister Annie, they found out that not only were the monsters real but sometimes you loved them. Now the Colby sisters and their friends are being targeted by someone with a grudge. They must solve the mystery of who is attacking the people of Columbus or risk losing all that they hold dear. Nobel Keller is with them every step of the way but will she bring salvation or merely the end of their lives in Columbus?

Tentative Publication Date: 2019

Burn It Down

Ash Hayes was failed by the system at the tender age of sixteen and her addiction was left unchecked. As a result, adversity and obsession molded a life weighed down by the guilt of her past. Ash holds a secret that is dark and damaging and she wraps it like a shell around her heart.

To atone for childhood misdeeds, Ash trained as a paramedic after high school and eventually became a firefighter with the Detroit fire department, along with her childhood best friend Derek. Friend, confidant, brother, he was her light in an otherwise dark life. When tragedy strikes on the job, injury and forced leave from the department are the least of her concerns. Suffering from guilt and depression after the loss of her two closest friends, she is set adrift in a sea of pain.

When Mia Thomas buys the house next door, Ash finds friendship in the most unlikely of places. Nearly opposites, Mia is intrigued by Ash, despite the firefighter’s grief and emotional damage. It’s Mia’s nature to help and to heal. She has a knack for finding the broken ones and leading them into the light. But Ash isn’t only weighed down by the recent events. Her secret still lives deep inside. Before the firefighter can even think of a future, she has to amend her past.

Like the phoenix of legend, sometimes you have to burn yourself to the ground before you can be reborn from the ashes. Will Ash be brave enough to start one last fire?

Tentative Publication Date: 2019